Long Walk To Freedom

“Your beauty, your strength, is not yours alone.”

Tonight I went to see a screening of Long Walk To Freedom ~ The film is about Nelson Mandela’s courageous life.  It was projected onto a beautiful peaceful arced white wall.  It is heart-breaking.

As mothers, fathers and children were slayed ~ as the innocent were murdered in cold blood ~ the candlelight flickered by the Tabernacle on the right,  holding any supressed emotion in His presence.

I spent much of the film with my hand over my mouth, so as not to cry out in involuntary spasms of mourning and grief ~ the tears did their thing.  The hardest moment other than the slayings, was the acute physical pain felt so deeply from the inhumane injustice of Mandela’s Loved ones dying whilst he was imprisoned on an island.

That man inspires and reaches the very marrow of my being.  His words, his conviction and his courage instill in me a quiet strength  ~  his willing to give up  his life for the freedom of  All Peoples ignites something deep down, which stirs me ~ calling my soul to account. Stirring me to hold tight to the truth,  and with peace and dignity to stand up for whats good, and right, and true ~  To have faith that apartheid of any discrimination will never be welcome at Gods table.

“I knew as well as I knew anything that the oppressor must be liberated just as surely as the oppressed. A man who takes away another man’s freedom is a prisoner of hatred, he is locked behind the bars of prejudice and narrow-mindedness. I am not truly free if I am taking away someone else’s freedom, just as surely as I am not free when my freedom is taken from me. The oppressed and the oppressor alike are robbed of their humanity.”

“I always knew that deep down in every human heart, there is mercy and generosity. No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite. Even in the grimmest times in prison, when my comrades and I were pushed to our limits, I would see a glimmer of humanity in one of the guards, perhaps just for a second, but it was enough to reassure me and keep me going. Man’s goodness is a flame that can be hidden but never extinguished.”

“Without language, one cannot talk to people and understand them; one cannot share their hopes and aspirations, grasp their history, appreciate their poetry, or savor their songs.”

About mags

Beloved apostle of His Soul x
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

