Wrong Year ~ Right Reading

11889473_10154667187707925_8621433524249464707_n

The most incredible thing happened today.

And yesterday.

But today especially.

I haven’t managed to get to Mass quite so often lately.  I have to be in Chelmsford too early to attend Mass on a Monday morning.  This is the Mass of the week that I think I most miss.  Other than the Wednesday morning Mass ~ thats the Mass that used to be the former priests day off ~ and mostly it isn’t a day off anymore ~ and I Love it.  Few people attend this Mass ~ its sacred ~ and special ~ there is just a couple of us.  Its Holy ~ and it’s perfectly hermity ~ and I Love it.

Anyhow ~ I work as a Health Trainer at a session in Chelmsford on a Monday morning, and so I miss Monday morning Mass ~ I have also been taking extra sessions on a Wednesday ~  and so I have missed Wednesday morning Mass too.   Thursdays I Am in London at the ISC   (Ignatian Spirituality Course)  so I miss Thursday morning Mass too, although I gain a most wonderful sacred early morning ~ with my Lord ~ in front of the Blessed Sacrament ~ at S† Mary Moorfields Church close to Liverpool Street Station.

All together I Am not enjoying missing Mass’.

On Monday mornings at S† Sabina’s I used to be the reader ~ and I Am missing this Soooo very much!

. . .  However today of All days ~ Thursday of half term ~ I did manage to get to Mass!

Today of All days I was asked to read!

Delighted I read.

AND THE READING IT SPOKE TO ME A THOUSAND DECIBELS!

I got home ~ and I rushed to look it up.

Nope couldn’t find it.

I looked again . . . and again . . .  and again.

Nope ~ No luck.

Perturbed I went back to the church in the early hours of the evening ~ just as the darkness had settled.

I looked in the book! ~ And right there was the reading.  ~  Only the reading of the day had been set in the wrong year ~ instead of year I ~  the navy ribbon bookmarked todays reading in the liturgy for year II.

And so right there it was . . .

. . . I had read the year II readings at Mass this morning.

Eliza was praying before the altar in the Blessed Sacrament Chapel this evening ~ and right there at the Lectern I slowly read the Word of God aloud once again.

Thursday of the Thirtieth Week in Ordinary Time Year II.

Lectionary: 482
Reading 1 EPH 6:10-20

Brothers and sisters:
Draw your strength from the Lord and from his mighty power.
Put on the armor of God so that you may be able to stand firm
against the tactics of the Devil.
For our struggle is not with flesh and blood
but with the principalities, with the powers,
with the world rulers of this present darkness,
with the evil spirits in the heavens.
Therefore, put on the armor of God,
that you may be able to resist on the evil day
and, having done everything, to hold your ground.
So stand fast with your loins girded in truth,
clothed with righteousness as a breastplate,
and your feet shod in readiness for the Gospel of peace.
In all circumstances, hold faith as a shield,
to quench all the flaming arrows of the Evil One.
And take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit,
which is the word of God.

With all prayer and supplication,
pray at every opportunity in the Spirit.
To that end, be watchful with all perseverance and supplication
for all the holy ones and also for me,
that speech may be given me to open my mouth,
to make known with boldness the mystery of the Gospel
for which I am an ambassador in chains,
so that I may have the courage to speak as I must.

Responsorial Psalm PS 144:1B, 2, 9-10

Blessed be the Lord, my Rock!
Blessed be the LORD, my rock,
who trains my hands for battle, my fingers for war.

Blessed be the Lord, my Rock!

My mercy and my fortress,
my stronghold, my deliverer,
My shield, in whom I trust,
who subdues my people under me.

Blessed be the Lord, my Rock!

O God, I will sing a new song to you;
with a ten stringed lyre I will chant your praise,
You who give victory to kings,
and deliver David, your servant from the evil sword.

Blessed be the Lord, my Rock!

Gospel LK 13:31-35

Some Pharisees came to Jesus and said,
“Go away, leave this area because Herod wants to kill you.”
He replied, “Go and tell that fox,
‘Behold, I cast out demons and I perform healings today and tomorrow,
and on the third day I accomplish my purpose.
Yet I must continue on my way today, tomorrow, and the following day,
for it is impossible that a prophet should die
outside of Jerusalem.’

“Jerusalem, Jerusalem,
you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you,
how many times I yearned to gather your children together
as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, but you were unwilling!
Behold, your house will be abandoned.
But I tell you, you will not see me until the time comes when you say,
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.”

And at the end of the reading Eliza ran out to me in absolute wonder from the Blessed Sacrament Chapel and said ~ “Mummy mummy have you seen the words above the hands on the altar, in the chapel?”

We recite them together out loud;

‘He has no hands but yours’

Her smile is tangible ~ I tell her about the S† Sabina’s past priest, whose brother had lovingly carved S† Teresa of Avila’s’  very words ~ upon the very altar which he himself made ~ in Love.

She listens tentatively.

Yesterday in the post I received a formal job offer.  The role involves Living the Gospel ~ by asking for prayer from the good people of Brentwood ~ and by raising awareness of the Medaille Trust ~ the Catholic charity that helps the victims who are caught up in human trafficking and modern day slavery.  This is one of the most despicable, fastest growing criminal activities to infect our times.  ~  I will try to help ~ in raising the charity’s profile and in raising much needed funds.

I need your prayer more than ever.

And so today ~ through the right reading on the wrong year ~ GOD chose to speak to me …

. . . Loud & Clear

And so there it is . . .

And I feel held . . . and blessed . . . and humbled . . . and inadequate . . . to be chosen so especially by Him.

In Spirit & in Truth.

God I Love You

About mags

Beloved apostle of His Soul x
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

